I went looking for the best free AI video generators and found that most of the tools on everyone's list are not free any more.
Not "free with limits." Not "free tier available." Actually not free, or free in a way that gives you about ten seconds of video and then stops forever.
This is what checking each one produced, on August 17, 2026.
What stopped being free
Sora. Shut down, not paywalled. This entry said Sora sat behind a $20 Plus subscription. That stopped being true on April 26, 2026, when OpenAI closed the Sora web and mobile apps. The Videos API, sora-2 and sora-2-pro are removed on September 24, 2026, and OpenAI's deprecations page names no replacement for any of them. ChatGPT cannot generate video now.
Sora launched publicly on December 9, 2024 and Sora 2 arrived on September 30, 2025, so the whole product lasted under two years. If you have anything stored there, export it at sora.chatgpt.com/sunset. If you are looking for a Sora alternative, the tools below are the ones I could still verify today.
That is seven months ago, and articles are still telling people to generate video free in ChatGPT.
Runway. This is the one worth reading carefully, because Runway's free offer is described accurately on their own pricing page and gets misreported everywhere else. Their words: 125 one-time credits. Not monthly. Once. Their FAQ adds that it is "a one-time deposit of 125 credits that doesn't expire".
One thing their page does not state either way is whether free output is watermarked. It lists "No watermarks" among the paid plan's features, which implies the free tier has one. I am not going to claim it does, because Runway does not say so. Generate one clip and look.
Their Gen-4.5 model costs 60 credits per five seconds of video. So the arithmetic is:
| What you get | Credits | Video |
|---|---|---|
| Free, one time | 125 | about 10 seconds, total, ever |
| Standard, $12/mo annual | 625/mo | about 52 seconds a month |
| Pro, $28/mo annual | 2,250/mo | about 3 minutes a month |
| Max, $76/mo annual | 9,500/mo | about 13 minutes a month |
Ten seconds is enough to decide whether you like the tool. It is not a free tier in any sense that matters, and calling it one is the single most common error in this category.
Luma. In March 2026 Luma launched Luma Agents, an agentic platform wrapped around the same models, with plans at $30, $90 and $300 a month and no free option. The legacy Dream Machine plans reportedly still exist alongside it and keep a free tier. So whether Luma is free depends on which product page you land on, which is not a distinction any older article makes.
What is still genuinely free
Two tools, on the figures I could find.
Pika. Zero free credits. Read straight off Pika's own pricing page on September 24, 2026: the Free plan is listed as "0 credits / month, packs only", and the comparison row says "Monthly credits: 0, packs only" against 900 on Starter at $10 a month.
The free plan does include "No watermark" and two parallel generations, which sounds generous until you notice there is nothing to generate with. You cannot make a video on Pika's free plan without buying a credit pack.
This page previously reported Pika at 150 daily credits and recommended it first. That was wrong, and the section below explains how.
Kling. Reported at 66 daily credits, which works out at roughly two to six short clips a day depending on resolution. Capped at five seconds and 720p, with a visible Kling watermark on everything.
Kling's number used to be higher. It is reported to have been cut from 166 daily credits to 66, roughly a 60% reduction, and most pages ranking for Kling's free plan still quote the old figure.
Both reset daily and neither rolls over. Unused credits vanish at midnight, so the practical allowance is what you can use in one sitting, not what accumulates.
Pika, in practice
An earlier version of this section said Pika is the one I would start with, and gave the watermark as the reason rather than the credits. The watermark part is true. The rest was not.
A watermark does not just look unprofessional. It rules out most of the things people actually want AI video for: a product clip, a background loop for a landing page, b-roll cut into a longer edit, anything a client sees. A watermarked clip is a preview of work you cannot use. Pika's free output reportedly does not carry one, which turns its free tier from a demo into something you could genuinely ship.
The 150 daily credits I reported do not exist. Pika's own page lists the free plan at zero credits a month. So the no-watermark advantage is real and unusable at the same time: clean output, nothing to produce it with.
That is a more interesting failure than a wrong number. A free plan with no watermark and no credits looks generous in a comparison table and gives you nothing. It is only visible if you open the pricing page instead of the review.
What to be realistic about: credits reset daily and do not accumulate. If you need twenty clips for one project, that is several days of collecting rather than an afternoon, and the model may not stay consistent across sessions. Generated video still struggles with continuity between clips, so cutting five separately generated shots together tends to look like five different worlds unless you are deliberate about prompting.
Veo (Google). Absent from every earlier version of this page, which was a gap, because it is the most likely destination for anyone who used Sora.
Here is the honest position: Google does not publish a free video generation limit. I checked their subscriptions and AI plans pages directly. What those pages actually say is that a paid Google AI Pro plan unlocks "a limited trial of Veo 3.1 Lite", and that Google Flow credits come with paid tiers. Nothing states what a free account gets.
Third-party sites confidently quote 5 a day, 10 a day, 12 a day, and 10 a month through Google Vids. They cannot all be right, and none of them cite Google. A "Made with Veo" watermark and an eight second cap are also widely reported and also unconfirmed by Google.
So Veo goes in this page as: real, probably the best free quality available, allowance unpublished. If you want to know what you get, sign in and look, because nobody writing about it has been told either.
Kling, in practice
Kling's free tier is more restricted on every axis: reported 66 daily credits, five second clips, 720p, and a visible watermark on everything.
It is still worth knowing about for two reasons. The output quality at 720p is competitive with tools charging money, and the daily reset means you can accumulate material over a week without paying, provided you can live with the watermark while you evaluate.
The number is the thing to watch. It reportedly dropped from 166 daily credits to 66, and most pages still quote the old figure, which means a lot of people arrive expecting roughly two and a half times what they get. If you are planning around Kling, check what your account actually shows today rather than what an article says, including this one.
What you can realistically make with a free tier
This is the part most listicles skip, and it decides whether any of this is worth your time.
A single social clip: yes. Five to ten seconds of generated video, cut with music and text in a normal editor, is a complete piece of short-form content. Both free tiers here support that daily.
B-roll for a longer video: yes, slowly. If you need three or four generated inserts for a ten minute YouTube video, a daily free allowance collects that over a few days. This is probably the highest-value free use, because the generated clips are seasoning rather than the meal.
A product demo or explainer: no. These need continuity between shots, specific on-screen content, and usually more than a minute of footage. Free tiers cannot do it and neither can the cheapest paid tiers.
Anything with a person speaking: no, from these tools. Use the avatar category below instead. Generated video is poor at lip sync and consistent faces, and the tools built for talking heads solve a different and easier problem.
Client work: only after reading the licence. Watermarks aside, free tiers routinely grant narrower rights than paid ones.
The honest summary is that free AI video is for evaluation and for small inserts into work you are producing another way. Anyone telling you a free tier replaces a video production budget is selling something.
Avatar video is a different category with better free tiers
If what you want is a presenter reading a script rather than a generated scene, the economics change completely.
Synthesia is reported at 10 minutes a month with 9 avatars, watermarked. HeyGen is reported at 3 videos a month, watermarked, at 720p.
Ten minutes a month is a genuinely useful amount of video. The catch in both cases is the watermark, which makes the output fine for testing, internal use, or deciding whether to pay, and unusable for anything client facing.
The reason these free tiers are more generous is that avatar video is cheaper to produce than generated scenes. The model is compositing a known face onto a known background with synthesised speech, not inventing every frame. Different cost structure, different free tier.
Think in seconds, not credits
Every tool in this category prices in credits, and no two credits are worth the same thing. This is the same problem the AI coding tools have, where six vendors sell six incompatible units, and it exists for the same reason: it makes comparison impossible.
The way through it is to convert everything into seconds of finished video before you compare anything.
Runway publishes the rate, so the conversion is arithmetic: 60 credits per five seconds on Gen-4.5. Most others do not publish a clean rate, and the cost per generation varies with resolution, duration and model, so you have to generate one clip and watch what your balance does.
That test takes two minutes and tells you more than any comparison table, including this one. Generate one clip at the settings you would actually use, note the credit cost, divide your monthly allowance by it. That is your real capacity.
What free actually gets you, side by side
| Tool | Free allowance | Resets | Watermark | Rough capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sora | shut down | n/a | n/a | Apps closed April 26, 2026. API removed September 24, 2026. No replacement |
| Runway | 125 credits, one time | never | no | about 10 seconds, ever |
| Pika | 0 credits, packs only | n/a | none stated | nothing without buying a pack |
| Veo (Google) | not published | unknown | "Made with Veo" reported | Google does not state a free limit |
| Kling | reported 66 credits | daily | yes | 2 to 6 clips a day, 5s, 720p |
| Luma Agents | none | n/a | n/a | from $30/mo |
| Luma Dream Machine (legacy) | reported free tier | varies | varies | check which product you are on |
| Synthesia | reported 10 min/mo | monthly | yes | avatar video only |
| HeyGen | reported 3 videos/mo | monthly | yes | avatar video only |
Runway's figures come from Runway's own pricing page. Everything marked reported comes from third-party trackers, because those sites block automated checking. Treat the reported rows as a starting point and verify against your own account before you plan around them.
The pattern behind all of this
Free AI video collapsed in 2026, and it collapsed faster than free AI images did.
The reason is not complicated. Generating video costs enormously more compute than generating a still, and the gap is not close. A five second clip is not five seconds of one image, it is dozens of frames that have to stay coherent with each other. Free tiers in image generation survived because the marginal cost of one more image is small. In video it is not, so the free tiers either shrank, became one-time trials, or were withdrawn.
Expect this to continue. If you are relying on a free video tier for anything ongoing, plan for it to shrink, and do not build a workflow that breaks when it does. I have written before about what AI pricing did in 2026, and video is the clearest case of the pattern: the headline price stays still or disappears while what sits behind it moves.
What I would actually do
If you want to try AI video once, use Runway's 125 credits. Ten seconds is enough to see the quality and decide, which is exactly what a trial is for. Do not plan anything around it.
If you want to generate regularly for free, Kling, with a caveat. Its reported 66 daily credits are the largest recurring free allowance I found, but Kling's pricing page renders entirely in JavaScript and I could not read it directly, so that number is second-hand like everyone else's.
Pika was first in an earlier version of this page. It should not have been. Its free plan carries zero credits.
If you need a talking head, Synthesia's Basic plan is the most usable free allowance in this whole piece, watermark accepted. Read off their pricing page on September 24, 2026: $0 a month, 1,200 credits, 10 minutes of video a month. Their paid tier lists "Remove Synthesia logo" as an upgrade, so the free output is branded. HeyGen's free plan is 3 videos a month, up to one minute each, with watermark removal also sold as a paid feature.
If you are producing content weekly, stop looking at free tiers. Runway Standard at $12 a month billed annually is about 52 seconds of Gen-4.5, and short-form video is usually several short clips cut together rather than one long generation, so 52 seconds goes further than it sounds. That is the honest entry point for regular work.
If you are building a YouTube workflow, the generation tool is rarely the bottleneck. I went through the full pipeline, including where AI genuinely saves time and where it produces work that gets demonetised, in how to use AI for YouTube automation.
What to expect from the output itself
Free tier or paid, the quality ceiling in generated video is lower than the demo reels suggest, and it is worth knowing where before you spend a day on it.
Short is reliable, long is not. A five second clip usually holds together. Coherence degrades as duration grows, which is part of why the caps exist and why the paid tiers that offer 90 seconds are selling something harder than nine times a ten second clip.
Hands, text and faces remain difficult. The same weaknesses that image generators have are worse in motion, because an error that would be a static oddity becomes a visible glitch across frames. Anything with readable text on screen is best added afterwards in an editor rather than generated.
Consistency between clips is the real limitation. You can generate two good five-second shots and find they look like different productions. Prompting the same style, lighting and subject helps and does not solve it. This is the single biggest reason free tiers work better for inserts than for whole videos.
Motion is where these tools earn their keep. Camera movement, particle effects, atmospheric shots, abstract backgrounds. Generated video is genuinely good at things that would be expensive to film and forgiving of small inconsistencies. It is weakest at exactly the things a phone camera does easily.
That last point is the useful one for deciding what to attempt. Ask whether the shot would be hard to film. If it would be easy, film it. If it would need a drone, a studio, or a visual effects budget, that is where a ten second generation earns its place.
One warning about licensing
Watermarks are the visible restriction. The invisible one is what rights you get.
Free tiers routinely grant narrower usage rights than paid ones, and some make your output public by default. That is not hypothetical: I found exactly that pattern when checking free image tools, where one popular option makes free-tier generations public and retains reuse rights, which most articles recommending it never mention. The same class of term exists in video.
Before you use any free-tier output in client work, read what you actually own. It takes five minutes and it is the difference between a free tool and an expensive mistake. The equivalent checks for still images are in best free AI image generators.
The honest summary
There is one mainstream AI video tool with a plausible recurring free tier as of September 24, 2026, and even that one I could not verify: Kling. Everything else is a one-time trial dressed as a free plan, an avatar tool in a different category, a plan with zero credits, or paid.
This page said two in August, naming Pika and Kling. Pika's own pricing page says zero credits a month, so that count was wrong.
That is a much shorter list than any article promising ten free AI video generators, and it is the one that survives checking.
Re-verified on September 24, 2026, and the sourcing note below it changed more than the numbers did.
The August version of this page said that Pika, Kling, Luma, Synthesia and HeyGen "block automated access" and that their figures therefore came from third-party trackers. That was only true of Kling. On re-checking, Pika, Luma, Synthesia, HeyGen and Runway all served their pricing pages normally, and the numbers below were read off those pages directly. Kling alone renders in JavaScript and remains unverified.
Read directly from the vendor on September 24, 2026: Runway's 125 one-time credits, Pika's 0 credits a month, Luma's plans starting at $30, Synthesia's $0 Basic with 1,200 credits and 10 minutes of video a month, and HeyGen's 3 videos a month up to one minute. Reported and not verified: Kling's 66 daily credits, and every circulating figure for Veo's free allowance, which Google does not publish. Two domains moved while I was checking: runwayml.com now resolves to runway.com and klingai.com to kling.ai. Free tiers in this category changed repeatedly through 2026, so verify against your own account before planning around any figure here.

